Who’s on third?

As I mentioned in my last post, I am making every effort to return to my writing. As I sat back and reflected on the draft I’d recently read, I came to a startling conclusion: it was not the first book in this fantasy series. It was the third. What I considered the first was in fact, its sequel. It’s one of those epiphanies that is less EUREKA! and more well, shit.

The good news is I have an older draft on hand, written back in 2009, which will make for an excellent start as I return to this world. The draft’s original purpose was to flesh out important historical events that continue to affect the world in the present day. It only recently occurred to me that I have a whole cast of characters who are ready for their day in the sun, so to speak. Why not tell their story from beginning to end, rather than inserted into the narrative at key moments? This might have worked if they were just names on a page. Yes, I’ve pulled names out of thin air whenever I introduced Important Historical Figure into the mix. Sometimes I think this happens more often than we realize. Or maybe it’s just me being lazy/in a rush to finish a draft. Anyway.

There’s another reason for me to write this story as opposed to the other one I’d labored over for so long. The heart of the plot lies in the forbidden love aspect. Super tripey, sure, but I have a fondness for this stuff. It works better in one version as opposed to the other. I’m also planning on tweaking the world a bit to make it less cliche. Cliches are, as we all know, a veritable death sentence for any piece of writing. Here’s to regaining my focus and my drive. I really enjoy this world I’ve created.

 

Leave a Reply

