Back from the proverbial dead

I know I have said this before, but I am the absolute worst when it comes to keeping track with this thing. It might be due to the fact it’s not my go-to springboard into the internet, or I’ll update only when I have something worthwhile to say. Given that we are approaching the April Camp NaNoWriMo, I’m gonna go with the latter.

As I was not able to participate in April’s Camp last year thanks to some writing doldrums, I am looking to do something this year. At first I thought about dredging up an old middle grade fantasy to work on. I’ve a great fondness for fantasy adventure (sans political wrangling), and MG is the best place to do it. However, I think I am going to stick with Mermaid’s Courage, my July Camp project. Aside from the love I have for the story and characters, I have spent the past month or so readying it for entry into the 2015 HNS New Novel Awards contest. Participants have until April 1st to enter the first 5K words, along with a 500 word synopsis. Because I was looking to make more of an impact for this contest- my YA fantasy didn’t place in the contest I entered it into late last year- I knew professional editing was a must. I chose Scribendi because their prices were far more reasonable than some of the others I came across. One writer wanted close to $500 for their services. This was pretty much my reaction.

haha-gif

After receiving the results from the free sample edit, (the suggestion to make the opening sentence really shine helped immensely) I sent the first 5K over. The suggestions the editor provided were very helpful, and the story is all the better for it. I have way more confidence about the story’s chances. Now all that’s left is to get my submission to the required word limit and away it goes!

For April Camp, I will be working on the second half of Mermaid’s Courage. I don’t foresee any difficulties in getting back into the story. I still have a lot of love for the characters, and they still intend to have their way with me. I’ve already changed some plot elements because of them. Just goes to show that you are never truly in control of your creation.

To all those planning to join Camp this April, good luck, and I look forward to hearing about your progress!

Leave a Reply

