Yet another NaNo centric post

“It can’t be reasoned with, it can’t be bargained with. It doesn’t feel pity, or remorse, or fear. And it absolutely will not stop, ever, until you are dead.”

Terminator fans will recognize Kyle Reese’s accurate description of a Terminator. I think it can also apply to me these past few days, only my Sarah Connor is 50K words and I am a terminator of said words. With my ultimate goal fast approaching (I have a feeling it will be today), I took a moment to compare this year’s progress with last year. The stats speak for themselves.

IMG_0029.PNG

IMG_0028.PNG

I’ve already attempted to pinpoint the source of such frenzy but I think it’s better not to question. I am a frenzied WriMo this year because the story demanded me to be one. All stories are not created equal. Some explode onto the page, others trickle in drips and drabs. Others still burn fast and hot only to fizzle out. I have been in all three scenarios. All three present their own rewards and frustrations. I don’t regret working on any of them, even the ones that failed to cross the finish line.

As for this story, it will not stop at 50K. I will keep going because I still have a lot of story to tell. 50K is only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

