The faces and inspirations of NaNo

Back when I first started writing, I didn’t really look to outside references for physical characteristics of my characters. I stuck to the basics- hair color, eye color, skin color, physique, etc etc. It wasn’t until an artist friend of mine offered to draw the main characters from my fantasy, The Last Hero, that I realized this approach to description wouldn’t work. I don’t look to real people as face models for every story; Simon from Renegade was visualized through my written descriptions. But I do find it easier to use face models for characters, especially when I describe how they look when they speak, gesture, things like that.

This brings me to Lifeline (so happy I have a title for it, yay!) The following are the face and body models I have chosen for Gabriel, Maria and Evelyn, respectfully.

Angela Bassett, Evelyn; Chris Noth, Gabriel; Perdita Weeks, Maria

Angela Bassett, Evelyn; Chris Noth, Gabriel; Perdita Weeks, Maria

The next two characters, Gabriel’s sister Sophia and her husband, Zachary, don’t have face models like the above three. In fact, I named them after two characters from a B-grade horror movie, Vampire Journals. This is how they look in the movie:

Zachary and Sofia, Vampire Journals

Zachary and Sofia, Vampire Journals

While I’m leaning toward the actress’s features and demeanor for my Sophia, the vampire Zachary couldn’t be more different from the one in the story. Especially considering my Zachary looks more like this guy:

jason alexander

But they have this kind of marriage:

up gif

Hey, someone in this sad tale of mine needs to be happy. XD

Leave a Reply

