Odessey of the Cover

First of all I wanted to give a shout out to Jesse James Allen ( http://savagelandpictures.com ) for allowing me to use his picture, ‘Space Story Free Stock’, for my cover.  He adjusted its coloring and increased the DPI for a clearer picture.

Image

The original cover intended for ‘Renegade’

Now let me tell you about the headache the cover step created for me.  When I first approached the idea of self-publishing, I didn’t think beyond being able to hold my book in my hand, and since I didn’t have the means to pay CreateSpace to do it for me, I was left to my own devices.  It was only through sheer determination that the frustration brought on by my ignorance didn’t kill the idea at the beginning.  It was a learning experience to say the least.  I now have a better understanding of what’s expected when it’s time to get the sequels out there.  Knowledge is power, as they say.  I am pleased with the end result.

Speaking of sequels, I am already devising ways to make ‘Exile’ newer and better.  There is a lot of ground to cover in it if I am to properly set the stage for ‘Savior’.  I know ‘Renegade’ is just a drop in the proverbial bucket now, but a writer’s work is never done.  The muse is always thinking, always creating and rejecting new ideas, and always at least five steps ahead of everyone else, especially the characters.  They, much like the reader, are along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

